From the past to now
The former Hotel "Union" - our current Europa Hotel Kühlungsborn - can look back on a long tradition of hosts, because already in the local prospectus of Brunshaupten (the eastern part of today's Kühlungsborn) from 1906, the house was first mentioned as a guesthouse, pastry shop and Café Becker .
This makes our house one of the oldest hotel buildings on Bülowweg, now called Ostseeallee.
During World War II the hotel was used as a military hospital, after 1945 it was converted into a district hospital and "Polyclinic" (until 1953).
Owner of the house was - until 1953 expropriation - Vollrath Techel, who continued to run a part of the house as a hotel after the war.
At the beginning of 1954, the district hospital moved to the former health resort, the hotel "Union" went to the travel agency of the GDR.
In May 1995 our house was reopened after profound refurbishment and renewed conversion as "Europa Hotel Kühlungsborn". The hotel management took over in 1995 then Axel Matzkus, who still manages the house today.
After 17 years, it was time to redesign the main view of the hotel. 2012 began the great appreciation of the Europa Hotel Kühlungsborn.
Refurbished exterior facade with new roof, gables and dormers, new windows, balconies and terraces to the lake side, construction of the conservatory and the 2-storey tower.
Since Christmas 2018, all rooms in the main building have been redesigned in a beautiful, timeless and comfortable Belle Epoque style and we are very proud of the result.
Now it is again one of the most beautiful and impressive houses in the village and attracts more and more guests every year.